What is the best way for authentication?

Hello everyone,

I developed a few Shiny apps and deployed on ShinyProxy for my company. I’m an only data analyst in the company and beginner about Shinyproxy. Also, IT is not knowladgeable about authentication stuff.

For now, the app deployed on company network but the system needs to be accessible soon for our employees without VPN connection. That’s why, it has to be accessible with an authentication system.

When I read the documentations, I saw that simple authentication is useful for me but it is not secure. The documentation says “Since passwords are contained in clear text in the application.yml file, this is not a secure way to set up authentication, but can be useful for demonstration purposes (e.g. in the absence of a network connection) or for very specific use cases.”

It presents us alternative ways like LDAP, Keycloak and so on. I looked at all of them from the documentations and outsource documentations, articles, videos etc. However I’m confussed about what is the best way in my case.

I guess, LDAP and Keycloack could be more appropriate on my case but I’m not sure. I wonder your experinces and sharings.

It woulde be great a resoure which tells authentication stuff step by step If there is.

1 Like

Hi

I think that for your situation, using Keycloak is the best option. Keycloak will allow you to manage users and passwords. Next you have to connect Keycloak with ShinyProxy using OpenID connect. There are many tutorials and examples on the web.

2 Likes

I confirm what @tdekoninck said, the best way is Keycloak.
I’m using it as SSO for my Shiny Apps, with features like OTP ( one-time password as 2 Factor Auth), roles and user groups.

Also you can found a lot materials for the configuration out there, steps easy way if you are using docker:

• create docker network
  • run a postgres db with the network attached, don’t forget to set env. var. for the db password … [Image Page]